Disturbing Mail

So among my Netflix DVDs, Victoria’s Secret catalog, EOS, and information on where to vote this year, I get this random DVD in the mail today.  The cover reads “Obsession:  Radical Islam’s War Against the West” and there is a Muslim set against the backdrop of the remaining metal standing after the World Trade center collapsed.  Immediately I’m wondering who on earth sent this to me, hoping it’s from someone I know, I check the usual suspects and turns out it’s not from a friend.  So someone wants me to learn about radical Islam while my brother is living in Syria?  Thanks.  The negative thoughts go through my head, how did people get my name and address, etc. (Brother is in Beirut currently, haven’t heard from him in a few days.)

Then I open the cover and it says, “The threat of Radical Islam is the most important issue facing us today.  But it’s a topic that neither the presidential candidates, nor the media are discussing openly.  It’s our responsibility to ensure we can all make an informed vote in November.”   Um, okay?  So The Clarion Fund decided that I needed to know how to vote in November, so they sent me a free DVD to learn about radical Islam?  ::Sigh of relief:: This is voting spam!  Apparently I’m not the first person to receive this and frankly, if I were Muslim, I’d be pretty offended that it landed in my mailbox.

Apparently this went out to millions of Americans this week.  Like most propaganda, I’d encourage you not to watch it, yet I believe that you can’t become educated without knowing what you’re dealing with and looking at both sides.  If you watch it, use your critical mind.  I know I will!  Let the fear mongering begin!

